Visit TorGuqin Booth @ Small Press Book Fair on June 19!

Small Press of Toronto -- Incredible reads off the beaten track

Link: Small Press of Toronto

Toronto Guqin Society will be connecting with small publishers, musicians, and the public on June 19, 2011 @ 11AM-5PM, in Hart House (University of Toronto) with many other diverse writers and publishers in the Small Press of Toronto Spring Book Fair!

Come in to have a chat with us, listen to some music, and learn more about the activities we do, as well as peruse our publications and discography — the sale of the Standards of the Guqin (book) will be limited, so please leave a reply here to show that you may be interested, so we will stock more!

Our showpieces for sale that day will mainly consist of our two upcoming CD albums, Standards of the Guqin (Audio CD), and Long Yin -Dragon Murmurs- by Yan’an Zhu.

Facts in a list:

  1. Small Press of Toronto Spring Book Fair!
  2. Sunday, June 19, 2011, 11AM to 5PM
  3. Hart House, 7 Hart House Circle, Toronto, ON (room TBA, most likely one of the first floor rooms or Great Hall)
  4. Standards of the Guqin book will be on display, sales limited
  5. TorGuqin members’ CDs will be on sale!

TorGuqin plans 3 CD releases

Toronto Guqin Society is currently planning on the release of 3 CD albums to culminate the various styles and repertoire of the Toronto qin community, as well to supplement the Standards of the Guqin textbook’s musical scores.

The first CD albums will be featuring Juni Yeung, Chairman of the Toronto Guqin Society, with Standards of the Guqin CD confirming the following pieces:

(List A)

  • 仙翁操 Xianweng Cao 1’40” “Etude of the Transcendent Venerable One”
  • 良宵引Liangxiao Yin 2’45” “Prelude to a Fair Evening”
  • 秋風詞 Qiufeng Ce 2’00” “Ode to the Autumn Wind”
  • 招隱 Zhao Yin 3’00” “Seeking Recluse”
  • 關山月 Guanshan Yue 2’30” “Moonlight Over the Mountain Pass”
  • 流觴 Liu Shang 4’00” “Flowing Goblet”
  • (NOTE: Bolded titles denote not included in the Standards book, but from the Guqin Quji (2nd ed.), People’s Music Press.)

(List B)

  • 陽關三疊 (渭城曲) Yangguan Sandie (Weicheng Qu) 6’00” “Three Variations on the Yang Pass Theme (Wei City Song)”
  • 華胥引 Huaxu Yin 2’31”“Prelude to the Utopian Land”
  • 秋宵步月 Qiuxiao Buyue 4’00” “Strolling under the Moon in Autumn Evening”,

(List C)

  • 古風操 Gufeng Cao 4’30” “Etude in the Style of Antiquity”
  • 漁樵問答 Yuqiao Wenda 9’30” “Dialogue of the Fisherman and Woodcutter”
  • 孔子讀易 Kongzi Duyi 8’00” “Confucius Reading the Book of Changes”
  • 松下觀濤 Songxia Guantao 11”30” “Watching the Waves from Under the Pines”

All times stated above are tentative, and are subject to minor fluctuations. The pieces in this recording will be played in a no-frills manner, emphasizing on basic technique and interpretive treatment.

Stay tuned for more information on the other releases.


June 2023